THE LAST HUNT by Deon Meyer

THE LAST HUNT Deon Meyer (www.deonmeyer.com) Translated by K.L. Seegers Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £19.99 Ex-cop Johnson Johnson’s body is found in the wilderness, beside a railway line days after he disappears from the world’s most luxurious train. Captains Benny Griessel and Vaughn Cupido, stars of South African police’s elite Hawks unit are assigned what […]

Read More THE LAST HUNT by Deon Meyer

I WILL MISS YOU TOMORROW by Heine Bakkeid

I WILL MISS YOU TOMORROW Heine Bakkeid (heinebakkeid.com) Translated by Anne Bruce Raven Books (www.bloomsbury.com) £12.99 Fresh out of prison, ex-policeman and Internal Affairs investigator Thorkild Aske is hired to investigate the disappearance of a young man on the remote northern coast of Norway. Rasmus Moritzen, known by residents of the area around Tromsø as […]

Read More I WILL MISS YOU TOMORROW by Heine Bakkeid

IMAGINARY FRIEND by Stephen Chbosky

IMAGINARY FRIEND Stephen Chbosky Orion Books (www.orionbooks.co.uk) £20.00 Kate Reese’s life has been a series of bad decisions since her husband took his own life in the bath several years before. When her latest boyfriend hits her, Kate packs up her few possessions, and her seven-year-old son, and flees eastward in the middle of the […]

Read More IMAGINARY FRIEND by Stephen Chbosky

THE INSTITUTE by Stephen King

THE INSTITUTE Stephen King (stephenking.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £20 Luke Ellis is twelve years old when he is abducted from his bed while his parents are murdered in theirs. When he awakes, he finds himself in a room that is almost exactly like his bedroom at home, but it doesn’t take Luke long to […]

Read More THE INSTITUTE by Stephen King

THE SPIDER DANCE by Nick Setchfield

THE SPIDER DANCE Nick Setchfield (www.nicksetchfield.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £7.99 Christopher Winter, no longer working for British Intelligence, finds himself recruited by London’s gangland. But you’re never really “out” of the security services, as Winter discovers when he is summoned by his old boss. Tasked with getting Alessandra Moltini out of Budapest, Winter quickly realises […]

Read More THE SPIDER DANCE by Nick Setchfield

LOST YOU by Haylen Beck

LOST YOU Haylen Beck (www.haylenbeck.com) Harvill Secker (www.penguin.co.uk) £14.99 Libby has decided on a well-deserved holiday and finds herself, with her three-year-old son Ethan, relaxing by the many pools of a resort complex on Florida’s gulf coast. When she befriends a married couple, one of whom takes an immediate shine to the precocious Ethan, Libby […]

Read More LOST YOU by Haylen Beck