THE WOLF ROAD by Beth Lewis

THE WOLF ROAD Beth Lewis (bethlewis.co.uk) The Borough Press (www.boroughpress.co.uk) £12.99 At the age of seven, a young girl finds herself lost in the vast forests of British Columbia. Stumbling across a shack, she attempts to steal some jerky and finds herself staring down the barrel of a gun. The gun belongs to a man […]

Read More THE WOLF ROAD by Beth Lewis

THE CITY OF MIRRORS by Justin Cronin

THE CITY OF MIRRORS Justin Cronin (enterthepassage.com) Orion Books (www.orionbooks.co.uk) £20.00 The Twelve have been defeated and with them, the hordes of virals that sprung from their bloodlines. Amy is gone and Alicia has fled into the wilderness, her infection forcing her to seek isolation. As the years pass, the people of Kerrville grow complacent: […]

Read More THE CITY OF MIRRORS by Justin Cronin

LONG DARK DUSK by JP Smythe

LONG DARK DUSK (Book 2 of the Australia Trilogy) JP Smythe (james-smythe.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £13.99 Months after the events that brought her and her companions to Earth, Chan Aitch is living in a shanty town built against the inner surface of the wall that now surrounds Washington, D.C. She has, so far, managed […]

Read More LONG DARK DUSK by JP Smythe

THE FIREMAN by Joe Hill

THE FIREMAN Joe Hill (www.joehillfiction.com) Gollancz (www.gollancz.co.uk) £20.00 Harper Grayson is working as a school nurse when the world ends. Draco Incendia Trychophyton, better known as Dragonscale, is a spore that infects that vast majority of people with whom it comes into contact – the symptoms are a beautiful tattoo-like patterning of the skin and […]

Read More THE FIREMAN by Joe Hill

SEVENEVES by Neal Stephenson

SEVENEVES Neal Stephenson (www.nealstephenson.com) The Borough Press (www.boroughpress.co.uk) £20.00 The moon blew up without warning and for no apparent reason. It was waxing, only one day short of full. The time was 05:03:12 UTC. Later it would be designated A+0.0.0, or simply Zero. An unknown Agent has split the moon into seven pieces, which remain […]

Read More SEVENEVES by Neal Stephenson

THE BEAUTY by Aliya Whiteley

THE BEAUTY Aliya Whiteley (aliyawhiteley.wordpress.com) Unsung Stories (www.unsungstories.co.uk) £9.99 The Group have made the Valley of the Rocks their home. Each of them has a role to play: William, the leader; Ben, the doctor; Nathan, the storyteller and keeper of the Group’s history. Like every other settlement on the planet, the Group is made up […]

Read More THE BEAUTY by Aliya Whiteley