THE SOUL STEALER by Graham Masterton

THE SOUL STEALER Graham Masterton (grahammasterton.co.uk) Head of Zeus (headofzeus.com) £18.99 Trinity Fox’s friend, Margo, has had a taste of fame with a bit part in new comedy, Hilarity Jones. But now Margo wants to meet: she is terrified and doesn’t know where to turn. When Trinity arrives at the pub where they’ve agreed to […]

Read More THE SOUL STEALER by Graham Masterton

GWENDY’S FINAL TASK by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

GWENDY’S FINAL TASK Stephen King (stephenking.com) Richard Chizmar (richardchizmar.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) Cemetery Dance (cemeterydance.com) £16.99 / $28.00 Buy a copy: UK hardcover Cemetery Dance Trade Edition When she was twelve years old, Gwendy Peterson met a stranger named Richard Farris in her home town of Castle Rock, Maine. Farris entrusted Gwendy with a […]

Read More GWENDY’S FINAL TASK by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

ECHO by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

ECHO Thomas Olde Heuvelt Translated by Moshe Gilula (moshegilula.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £16.99 Nick Grevers has a passion for climbing mountains. It’s a passion his boyfriend doesn’t share, so Nick climbs with other people while Sam Avery stays home and worries. While descending a long-planned summit, Nick and his partner spy a mountain in […]

Read More ECHO by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

GUEST POST: The Top Five(ish) Horror Movies that Actually Scared Me by SARAH LANGAN

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 As a horror movie lover, I’ve developed fear calluses. This probably started back during the summer before fifth grade, when I rented Dawn of the Dead from the local Long Island video store, Video Quest, where the owner was always giving me the stink eye because he felt […]

Read More GUEST POST: The Top Five(ish) Horror Movies that Actually Scared Me by SARAH LANGAN

GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 The Wildes – Arlo and Gertie and their kids, Julia and Larry – are the latest addition to Maple Street, a quiet Garden City crescent bordering a six-acre park. They fit in reasonably well, the kids joining the Rat Pack – as the street’s children call […]

Read More GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

EMPIRE OF WILD by Cherie Dimaline

EMPIRE OF WILD Cherie Dimaline (cheriedimaline.com) Weidenfeld & Nicolson (weidenfeldandnicolson.co.uk) £14.99 Stepping outside to cool off after an argument, Victor disappears into the forest and his wife, Joan, spends eleven months and six days trying to find him. On the seventh day of that fateful twelfth month, a hungover Joan pulls into the parking lot […]

Read More EMPIRE OF WILD by Cherie Dimaline

LATER by Stephen King

LATER Stephen King (stephenking.com) Hard Case Crime (hardcasecrime.com) £8.99 Looking back on it, I sometimes think my life was like a Dickens novel, only with swearing. From a young age Jamie Conklin has been able to see dead people. Sometimes it’s difficult to tell, because they don’t look like anyone’s conventional idea of a ghost, […]

Read More LATER by Stephen King

THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R. Carey

THE BOOK OF KOLI (THE RAMPART TRILOGY BOOK 1) M.R. Carey Orbit Books (www.orbitbooks.net) £8.99 In the distant future, the world has been ravaged by climate change and generations of genetically modified flora and fauna have begun to fight back. The remainder of the human population survive in walled villages, cut off from each other […]

Read More THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R. Carey