GUEST POST: The Top Five(ish) Horror Movies that Actually Scared Me by SARAH LANGAN

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 As a horror movie lover, I’ve developed fear calluses. This probably started back during the summer before fifth grade, when I rented Dawn of the Dead from the local Long Island video store, Video Quest, where the owner was always giving me the stink eye because he felt […]

Read More GUEST POST: The Top Five(ish) Horror Movies that Actually Scared Me by SARAH LANGAN

GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 The Wildes – Arlo and Gertie and their kids, Julia and Larry – are the latest addition to Maple Street, a quiet Garden City crescent bordering a six-acre park. They fit in reasonably well, the kids joining the Rat Pack – as the street’s children call […]

Read More GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

EMPIRE OF WILD by Cherie Dimaline

EMPIRE OF WILD Cherie Dimaline (cheriedimaline.com) Weidenfeld & Nicolson (weidenfeldandnicolson.co.uk) £14.99 Stepping outside to cool off after an argument, Victor disappears into the forest and his wife, Joan, spends eleven months and six days trying to find him. On the seventh day of that fateful twelfth month, a hungover Joan pulls into the parking lot […]

Read More EMPIRE OF WILD by Cherie Dimaline

LATER by Stephen King

LATER Stephen King (stephenking.com) Hard Case Crime (hardcasecrime.com) £8.99 Looking back on it, I sometimes think my life was like a Dickens novel, only with swearing. From a young age Jamie Conklin has been able to see dead people. Sometimes it’s difficult to tell, because they don’t look like anyone’s conventional idea of a ghost, […]

Read More LATER by Stephen King

THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R. Carey

THE BOOK OF KOLI (THE RAMPART TRILOGY BOOK 1) M.R. Carey Orbit Books (www.orbitbooks.net) £8.99 In the distant future, the world has been ravaged by climate change and generations of genetically modified flora and fauna have begun to fight back. The remainder of the human population survive in walled villages, cut off from each other […]

Read More THE BOOK OF KOLI by M.R. Carey

IF IT BLEEDS by Stephen King

IF IT BLEEDS Stephen King (stephenking.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £20 We are living through strange – nay, unprecedented – times, and it has been said more than once that 2020 feels like we’re living through a Stephen King novel. As fans of post-apocalyptic fiction, we’ve lived through this scenario, through the escapism provided by […]

Read More IF IT BLEEDS by Stephen King

IMAGINARY FRIEND by Stephen Chbosky

IMAGINARY FRIEND Stephen Chbosky Orion Books (www.orionbooks.co.uk) £20.00 Kate Reese’s life has been a series of bad decisions since her husband took his own life in the bath several years before. When her latest boyfriend hits her, Kate packs up her few possessions, and her seven-year-old son, and flees eastward in the middle of the […]

Read More IMAGINARY FRIEND by Stephen Chbosky

THE INSTITUTE by Stephen King

THE INSTITUTE Stephen King (stephenking.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £20 Luke Ellis is twelve years old when he is abducted from his bed while his parents are murdered in theirs. When he awakes, he finds himself in a room that is almost exactly like his bedroom at home, but it doesn’t take Luke long to […]

Read More THE INSTITUTE by Stephen King