THE CAPITAL by Robert Menasse

  THE CAPITAL Robert Menasse Translated by Jamie Bulloch MacLehose Press (www.maclehosepress.com) £15 There’s a pig on the loose! And so begins one of the strangest, most enjoyable books you’ll come across this year. Part crime story, part examination of the different bodies that make up the European Union, all satire that totters, at times, […]

Read More THE CAPITAL by Robert Menasse

RAGDOLL by Daniel Cole

RAGDOLL Daniel Cole Trapeze (www.orionbooks.co.uk) £12.99 One body, six victims, body parts sewn together and strung from the ceiling of a London flat like a puppet. Immediately christened the Ragdoll Killer by the press, it is up to Detective Sergeant William Fawkes and his team at New Scotland Yard to identify the constituent parts. When […]

Read More RAGDOLL by Daniel Cole

SPOOK STREET by Mick Herron

SPOOK STREET Mick Herron (www.mickherron.com) John Murray (www.johnmurray.co.uk) £14.99 When the Berlin Wall fell, David Cartwright was one step away from First Desk, the pinnacle of the British Intelligence Services. Now suffering the onset of dementia, the “Old Bastard”, as he is affectionately known by his grandson, River, may be in danger of revealing secrets […]

Read More SPOOK STREET by Mick Herron

The Best Writers Are Onion Peelers by MICHAEL GROTHAUS

Name: MICHAEL GROTHAUS Author of: EPIPHANY JONES (2016) On the web: http://www.michaelgrothaus.com On Twitter: @michaelgrothaus Epiphany Jones, I’ve been told, is hard to categorize. When I ask people who have read it what kind of book they think it is they’ve replied “psychological thriller”, “literary fiction”, “crime”, “social satire”, “dark comedy”, “transgressive fiction”, and “a […]

Read More The Best Writers Are Onion Peelers by MICHAEL GROTHAUS

EPIPHANY JONES by Michael Grothaus

EPIPHANY JONES Michael Grothaus (www.michaelgrothaus.com) Orenda Books (orendabooks.co.uk) £8.99 Tonight I’m having sex with Audrey Hepburn. Jerry Dresden is something of a loner. Obsessed with sex and celebrity – and, very often, both at the same time – he spends his days working at the Art Institute of Chicago, and his nights in front of […]

Read More EPIPHANY JONES by Michael Grothaus

NORMAL by Graeme Cameron

NORMAL Graeme Cameron (www.graeme-cameron.com) Harlequin Mira (www.mirabooks.co.uk) £7.99 Erica has been abducted by the man who killed and dismembered her best friend, and is now living in a cage in his basement. Her abductor is a seemingly ordinary man with a penchant for murdering pretty young women. But things aren’t going as planned: at the […]

Read More NORMAL by Graeme Cameron

LOOK WHO’S BACK by Timur Vermes

LOOK WHO’S BACK Timur Vermes Translated by Jamie Bulloch MacLehose Press (maclehosepress.com) £15.00 Adolf Hitler opens his eyes to find himself lying in the middle of a piece of waste ground in Berlin. The last few days – his final days in the Bunker – are a blur and it doesn’t take long for Hitler […]

Read More LOOK WHO’S BACK by Timur Vermes

SEASON TO TASTE by Natalie Young

SEASON TO TASTE or HOW TO EAT YOUR HUSBAND Natalie Young Tinder Press (www.tinderpress.co.uk) £12.99 She cleaned the nails with a nailbrush, rinsing in the sink; and then she brushed the skin with an oil brush to give it a good crisp. She rubbed all over the hand with olive oil and salt and then […]

Read More SEASON TO TASTE by Natalie Young