VIGIL by Angela Slatter

VIGIL Angela Slatter (www.angelaslatter.com) Jo Fletcher Books (www.jofletcherbooks.com) £14.99 Verity Fassbinder’s background makes her the perfect peacekeeper in the Australian city of Brisbane. The product of a Normal mother and Weyrd father, Verity has access to both worlds despite her lack of Weyrd attributes. When a siren is murdered on the heels of Verity’s discovery […]

Read More VIGIL by Angela Slatter

THE SEARCHER by Chris Morgan Jones

THE SEARCHER Chris Morgan Jones (www.chrismorganjones.com) Mantle (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 Isaac Hammer’s world seems to be falling down around him. The offices of his intelligence agency, Ikertu, have been raided by the police, and Ike himself has been arrested. The charge? Obtaining information by illegal means: hacking and phone tapping. But this isn’t Ike’s style, and […]

Read More THE SEARCHER by Chris Morgan Jones

A MAN LIES DREAMING by Lavie Tidhar

A MAN LIES DREAMING Lavie Tidhar (lavietidhar.wordpress.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £18.99 In another time and place, a man lies dreaming. National Socialism is routed at the 1933 elections by Communism, and its leadership exiled from Germany. Sentenced to a concentration camp, Adolf Hitler escapes and makes his way to London where, under his old […]

Read More A MAN LIES DREAMING by Lavie Tidhar

THE FIRST STONE by Elliott Hall

THE FIRST STONE Elliott Hall (elliott-hall.co.uk) John Murray (www.johnmurray.co.uk) £7.99 Elliott Hall’s 2009 debut novel, and the first in his Felix Strange trilogy, The First Stone, is the subject of the latest Hodderscape Review Project. Don’t forget to check out the thoughts of my fellow reviewers, to which you’ll find links on the Hodderscape website. […]

Read More THE FIRST STONE by Elliott Hall

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE Benjamin Black (www.benjaminblackbooks.com) Mantle (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 It seems like a straightforward case: Nico Peterson, the boyfriend of Philip Marlowe’s married client, has disappeared. It’s a scenario Marlowe has investigated often and it usually means the boyfriend has wanted to end the affair and decided disappearing might be an easier option than going […]

Read More THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black

EAST OF INNOCENCE by David Thorne

EAST OF INNOCENCE David Thorne Corvus (atlantic-books.co.uk) £12.99 It’s an old joke, well-worn. What’s the difference between God and a lawyer? The man sitting across the desk from me, eyes fixed on my face, doesn’t look like he’d appreciate the punch line. Daniel Connell, son of an Essex hard-man, is a big-time lawyer fallen on […]

Read More EAST OF INNOCENCE by David Thorne

THE HOUSE OF SILK by Anthony Horowitz

THE HOUSE OF SILK Anthony Horowitz (anthonyhorowitz.com) Orion (www.orionbooks.co.uk) £18.99 Released: 1st November Anthony Horowitz is, perhaps, best known by a certain generation of young boys as the man behind the popular Alex Rider series of books. It is, I think, less well-known that he is also the man behind some of the most popular […]

Read More THE HOUSE OF SILK by Anthony Horowitz

THE CUT by George Pelecanos

THE CUT George Pelecanos (www.hachettebookgroup.com/features/georgepelecanos) Orion Books (www.orionbooks.co.uk) £12.99 Released:25th August 2011 Another week, another shameful secret here at Reader Dad: The Cut – the first book in a new series featuring private investigator Spero Lucas – is the first George Pelecanos book I’ve read. With that out of the way, let’s get on with […]

Read More THE CUT by George Pelecanos