THOSE WHO RETURN by Kassandra Montag

THOSE WHO RETURN Kassandra Montag (kassandramontag.com) Quercus (quercusbooks.co.uk) £14.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop Hatchery House sits in the middle of the wilderness in the Great Plains of Nebraska. At various times in its history a church, an asylum and an orphanage, it’s now a treatment facility for orphaned children with psychiatric […]

Read More THOSE WHO RETURN by Kassandra Montag

FIRST BORN by Will Dean

FIRST BORN Will Dean Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £14.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop Molly Raven lives her life assessing and avoiding risks wherever possible. One half of a pair of identical twins, Molly feels that she is the darker of the two, the twin who ended up with all of the […]

Read More FIRST BORN by Will Dean

THE WOLF MILE by C. F. Barrington

THE WOLF MILE Book One of The Pantheon C. F. Barrington (cfbarrington.com) Ad Astra / Head of Zeus (headofzeus.com) £8.99 Buy a copy from your favourite bookshop. Tyler Maitland has been searching for his sister, Morgan, since she disappeared – seemingly into thin air – a year earlier. Lana Cameron has been searching for meaning […]

Read More THE WOLF MILE by C. F. Barrington

A MATTER OF TIME by Claire Askew

A MATTER OF TIME Claire Askew (claireaskew.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £16.99 At 8am, a man opens fire with a shotgun at an agricultural show in Scotland’s Borders region. Either he’s a poor shot, or he has been aiming deliberately to minimise casualties. Then he’s in the wind. By lunchtime he’s holed up in a […]

Read More A MATTER OF TIME by Claire Askew

THE SOUL STEALER by Graham Masterton

THE SOUL STEALER Graham Masterton (grahammasterton.co.uk) Head of Zeus (headofzeus.com) £18.99 Trinity Fox’s friend, Margo, has had a taste of fame with a bit part in new comedy, Hilarity Jones. But now Margo wants to meet: she is terrified and doesn’t know where to turn. When Trinity arrives at the pub where they’ve agreed to […]

Read More THE SOUL STEALER by Graham Masterton

THE GOODBYE COAST by Joe Ide

THE GOODBYE COAST Joe Ide (joeide.com) Weidenfeld & Nicolson (weidenfeldandnicolson.co.uk) £14.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop Once a rom-com queen, Kendra James is now a fading Hollywood star. Her husband has been shot dead and her step-daughter has disappeared, so she turns to a private detective to find her. Enter Philip Marlowe […]

Read More THE GOODBYE COAST by Joe Ide

THE HUNTING GROUND by Will Shindler

THE HUNTING GROUND Will Shindler Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £16.99 Buy a copy from your favourite local bookshop Down on her luck and in need of some money, Sadie Nicholls finds herself playing waitress at a high society dinner attended by the great and good of British business. When the hand of one attendee wanders […]

Read More THE HUNTING GROUND by Will Shindler

GWENDY’S FINAL TASK by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

GWENDY’S FINAL TASK Stephen King (stephenking.com) Richard Chizmar (richardchizmar.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) Cemetery Dance (cemeterydance.com) £16.99 / $28.00 Buy a copy: UK hardcover Cemetery Dance Trade Edition When she was twelve years old, Gwendy Peterson met a stranger named Richard Farris in her home town of Castle Rock, Maine. Farris entrusted Gwendy with a […]

Read More GWENDY’S FINAL TASK by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

ECHO by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

ECHO Thomas Olde Heuvelt Translated by Moshe Gilula (moshegilula.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £16.99 Nick Grevers has a passion for climbing mountains. It’s a passion his boyfriend doesn’t share, so Nick climbs with other people while Sam Avery stays home and worries. While descending a long-planned summit, Nick and his partner spy a mountain in […]

Read More ECHO by Thomas Olde Heuvelt