FIRST BORN by Will Dean

FIRST BORN Will Dean Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £14.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop Molly Raven lives her life assessing and avoiding risks wherever possible. One half of a pair of identical twins, Molly feels that she is the darker of the two, the twin who ended up with all of the […]

Read More FIRST BORN by Will Dean

A MATTER OF TIME by Claire Askew

A MATTER OF TIME Claire Askew (claireaskew.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £16.99 At 8am, a man opens fire with a shotgun at an agricultural show in Scotland’s Borders region. Either he’s a poor shot, or he has been aiming deliberately to minimise casualties. Then he’s in the wind. By lunchtime he’s holed up in a […]

Read More A MATTER OF TIME by Claire Askew

THE LONG WEEKEND by Gilly Macmillan

THE LONG WEEKEND Gilly Macmillan (www.gillymacmillan.com) Century (penguin.co.uk/…/century.html) £12.99 They have been friends since childhood and every year they take a long weekend break to unwind and enjoy each others’ company. This year is the first since the death of Rob, so four couples have become three. As the women head to Dark Fell Barn, […]

Read More THE LONG WEEKEND by Gilly Macmillan

DARK THINGS I ADORE by Katie Lattari

DARK THINGS I ADORE Katie Lattari (katielattari.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 Audra Colfax is an art student at a top Boston school. Young, passionate and very talented, she has caught the attention of esteemed artist and professor, Max Durant, who has taken her under his wing. As she approaches the end of her studies, Audra […]

Read More DARK THINGS I ADORE by Katie Lattari

THE DARK by Emma Haughton

THE DARK Emma Haughton (emmahaughton.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £12.99 Buy now from your favourite independent bookshop Doctor Kate North is a last minute addition to the crew of the United Nations Antarctica station following the untimely death of their original medic. It’s a last-ditch attempt to get her life back on track following a […]

Read More THE DARK by Emma Haughton

GUEST POST: The Top Five(ish) Horror Movies that Actually Scared Me by SARAH LANGAN

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 As a horror movie lover, I’ve developed fear calluses. This probably started back during the summer before fifth grade, when I rented Dawn of the Dead from the local Long Island video store, Video Quest, where the owner was always giving me the stink eye because he felt […]

Read More GUEST POST: The Top Five(ish) Horror Movies that Actually Scared Me by SARAH LANGAN

GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 The Wildes – Arlo and Gertie and their kids, Julia and Larry – are the latest addition to Maple Street, a quiet Garden City crescent bordering a six-acre park. They fit in reasonably well, the kids joining the Rat Pack – as the street’s children call […]

Read More GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

RAGE by Richard Bachman

RAGE Stephen King writing as Richard Bachman (stephenking.com) Currently unavailable Today is the day that Charles Everett Decker is going to “get it on.” Charlie, as he’s known by those around him, arrives at his early-morning algebra class with his father’s pistol and a pocketful of ammunition. After shooting dead his teacher, he takes his […]

Read More RAGE by Richard Bachman