THE LATECOMER by Jean Hanff Korelitz

THE LATECOMER Jean Hanff Korelitz (jeanhanffkorelitz.com) Faber & Faber (faber.co.uk) £8.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop The Oppenheimer triplets…had been in full flight from one another as far back as their ancestral petri dish. Not one of the three – Harrison (the smart one), Lewyn (the weird one), or Sally (the girl) […]

Read More THE LATECOMER by Jean Hanff Korelitz

DARK OBJECTS by Simon Toyne

DARK OBJECTS Simon Toyne (simontoyne.net) HarperCollins (harpercollins.co.uk) £14.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop The body of a wealthy woman is found in the living room of her ultra-modern, ultra-secure Highgate home, surrounded by four strange objects. DCI Tannahill Khan catches the case and discovers that one of the objects is a book […]

Read More DARK OBJECTS by Simon Toyne

THE LAST STORM by Tim Lebbon

THE LAST STORM Tim Lebbon (timlebbon.net) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop Jesse is a Rainmaker, like his mother before him, and on back through the generations as far as the family can remember. In an America ravaged by climate change with large swathes known as the Desert, Jesse […]

Read More THE LAST STORM by Tim Lebbon

FIRST BORN by Will Dean

FIRST BORN Will Dean Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £14.99 Buy a copy from your favourite independent bookshop Molly Raven lives her life assessing and avoiding risks wherever possible. One half of a pair of identical twins, Molly feels that she is the darker of the two, the twin who ended up with all of the […]

Read More FIRST BORN by Will Dean

GWENDY’S FINAL TASK by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

GWENDY’S FINAL TASK Stephen King (stephenking.com) Richard Chizmar (richardchizmar.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) Cemetery Dance (cemeterydance.com) £16.99 / $28.00 Buy a copy: UK hardcover Cemetery Dance Trade Edition When she was twelve years old, Gwendy Peterson met a stranger named Richard Farris in her home town of Castle Rock, Maine. Farris entrusted Gwendy with a […]

Read More GWENDY’S FINAL TASK by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

ECHO by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

ECHO Thomas Olde Heuvelt Translated by Moshe Gilula (moshegilula.com) Hodder & Stoughton (hodder.co.uk) £16.99 Nick Grevers has a passion for climbing mountains. It’s a passion his boyfriend doesn’t share, so Nick climbs with other people while Sam Avery stays home and worries. While descending a long-planned summit, Nick and his partner spy a mountain in […]

Read More ECHO by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

GOOD NEIGHBOURS Sarah Langan (sarahlangan.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £8.99 The Wildes – Arlo and Gertie and their kids, Julia and Larry – are the latest addition to Maple Street, a quiet Garden City crescent bordering a six-acre park. They fit in reasonably well, the kids joining the Rat Pack – as the street’s children call […]

Read More GOOD NEIGHBOURS by Sarah Langan

RAZORBLADE TEARS by S. A. Cosby

RAZORBLADE TEARS S. A. Cosby Headline (headline.co.uk) £18.99 Isaac “Ike” Randolph is in mourning following the violent death of his son, Isiah. Ike has much to mourn, given the strained nature of their relationship, caused by Ike’s inability to accept that his son was gay. Now, having been gunned down with his husband, it’s too […]

Read More RAZORBLADE TEARS by S. A. Cosby

RAGE by Richard Bachman

RAGE Stephen King writing as Richard Bachman (stephenking.com) Currently unavailable Today is the day that Charles Everett Decker is going to “get it on.” Charlie, as he’s known by those around him, arrives at his early-morning algebra class with his father’s pistol and a pocketful of ammunition. After shooting dead his teacher, he takes his […]

Read More RAGE by Richard Bachman