THE GREAT SWINDLE by Pierre Lemaitre

THE GREAT SWINDLE Pierre Lemaitre (www.pierrelemaitre.com) Translated by Frank Wynne (www.terribleman.com) MacLehose Press (maclehosepress.com) £18.99 As the Great War approaches its end, Lieutenant Henri d’Aulnay-Pradelle decides to make one last bid for glory. Sending two scouts over the top, he shoots them in the back, and uses their deaths as the perfect excuse for one […]

Read More THE GREAT SWINDLE by Pierre Lemaitre

Exclusive Excerpt from Sven Hassel’s WHEELS OF TERROR

WHEELS OF TERROR: A Graphic Novel Adaptation Sven Hassel (www.svenhassel.net) Jordy Diago (jordy-diago.blogspot.co.uk) Weidenfeld & Nicholson (www.wnblog.co.uk) £16.99 This week sees the UK publication of the graphic novel adaptation of Sven Hassel’s 1959 novel, Wheels of Terror. Adapted by Hassel’s family, and brought to life by the stunning artwork of Spanish artist Jordy Diago, the […]

Read More Exclusive Excerpt from Sven Hassel’s WHEELS OF TERROR

FALL OF MAN IN WILMSLOW by David Lagercrantz

FALL OF MAN IN WILMSLOW David Lagercrantz (www.davidlagercrantz.se) Translated by George Goulding MacLehose Press (maclehosepress.com) £18.99 On a wet morning in early June 1954, Detective Constable Leonard Corell finds himself investigating the death of a mathematician in the sleepy Cheshire town of Wilmslow. Preliminary investigation points towards suicide, the man having died after eating a […]

Read More FALL OF MAN IN WILMSLOW by David Lagercrantz

JAKOB’S COLOURS by Lindsay Hawdon

JAKOB’S COLOURS Lindsay Hawdon (lhawdon.co.uk) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £14.99 Jakob is barely eight-years old, and he is running for his life, searching for shelter in a world that has turned against him. It is 1944, and Jakob is a half-gypsy, the oldest child of a Romany father and an English mother, living in German-occupied […]

Read More JAKOB’S COLOURS by Lindsay Hawdon

I AM RADAR by Reif Larsen

I AM RADAR Reif Larsen (reiflarsen.com) Harvill Secker (www.vintage-books.co.uk) £16.99 In April 1975, in New Jersey, Radar Radmanovic is born, a black child with white parents. While his father, Kermin, accepts the child’s “condition”, his mother, Charlene, is driven to discover some kind of cure. Her search leads the family to northern Norway and the […]

Read More I AM RADAR by Reif Larsen

GOLDEN SON by Pierce Brown

GOLDEN SON Pierce Brown (pierce-brown.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £16.99 Two years after his victory at the Institute, Darrow au Andromedus, the Red who now lives the life of a Gold, is on the cusp of repeating the trick at the Academy, and gaining command of a fleet of Gold vessels. It is a surprise […]

Read More GOLDEN SON by Pierce Brown

A MAN LIES DREAMING by Lavie Tidhar

A MAN LIES DREAMING Lavie Tidhar (lavietidhar.wordpress.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £18.99 In another time and place, a man lies dreaming. National Socialism is routed at the 1933 elections by Communism, and its leadership exiled from Germany. Sentenced to a concentration camp, Adolf Hitler escapes and makes his way to London where, under his old […]

Read More A MAN LIES DREAMING by Lavie Tidhar

THE ABDUCTION by Jonathan Holt

THE ABDUCTION Jonathan Holt (www.carnivia.com) Head of Zeus (headofzeus.com) £12.99   WALL STANDING IS NOT TORTURE. AT 9 P.M. THIS EVENING, SHE WILL NOT BE TORTURED. WATCH IT LIVE ON CARNIVIA. When the teenage daughter of a high-ranking US soldier is abducted from one of Venice’s sex clubs, it seems that the protesters against the […]

Read More THE ABDUCTION by Jonathan Holt