THE HOUSE by Simon Lelic

THE HOUSE Simon Lelic (www.simonlelic.com) Penguin Books (www.penguin.co.uk) £7.99 Jack and Syd have found the perfect house; well, as far as Syd is concerned anyway. Jack isn’t so sure, but he isn’t too worried: with the amount of interest in this place, it won’t be long before he and Syd have been outbid. But the […]

Read More THE HOUSE by Simon Lelic

RETRIBUTION ROAD by Antonin Varenne

RETRIBUTION ROAD Antonin Varenne Translated by Sam Taylor (samtaylorwriter.wixsite.com/sam-taylor-writer) MacLehose Press (www.maclehosepress.com) £18.99 Sergeant Arthur Bowman is a fifteen-year veteran of the East India Company’s private army when he and his team are taken prisoner in Burma in 1852. Six months of torture leave him mentally and physically scarred when he is released along with […]

Read More RETRIBUTION ROAD by Antonin Varenne

RAGE by Zygmunt Miłoszewski

RAGE Zygmunt Miłoszewski Translated by Antonia Lloyd-Jones AmazonCrossing (www.amazon.com) £8.99 The discovery of a skeleton in a construction site in the historic Polish city of Olsztyn brings Prosecutor Teodor Szacki into the spotlight when it is discovered that the bones are fresh, the rest of the body chemically dissolved. Identifying the remains proves relatively easy, […]

Read More RAGE by Zygmunt Miłoszewski

VIGIL by Angela Slatter

VIGIL Angela Slatter (www.angelaslatter.com) Jo Fletcher Books (www.jofletcherbooks.com) £14.99 Verity Fassbinder’s background makes her the perfect peacekeeper in the Australian city of Brisbane. The product of a Normal mother and Weyrd father, Verity has access to both worlds despite her lack of Weyrd attributes. When a siren is murdered on the heels of Verity’s discovery […]

Read More VIGIL by Angela Slatter

LYING IN WAIT by Liz Nugent

LYING IN WAIT Liz Nugent (liznugent.ie) Penguin Random House (www.penguinrandomhouse.com) £12.99 Andrew Fitzsimons is a respected judge in the Dublin Criminal Courts system. He and his reclusive wife have been forced to kill a young woman and her body is now buried in their back garden. While Lydia seems to be in control of the […]

Read More LYING IN WAIT by Liz Nugent

EPIPHANY JONES by Michael Grothaus

EPIPHANY JONES Michael Grothaus (www.michaelgrothaus.com) Orenda Books (orendabooks.co.uk) £8.99 Tonight I’m having sex with Audrey Hepburn. Jerry Dresden is something of a loner. Obsessed with sex and celebrity – and, very often, both at the same time – he spends his days working at the Art Institute of Chicago, and his nights in front of […]

Read More EPIPHANY JONES by Michael Grothaus

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough

13 MINUTES Sarah Pinborough (sarahpinborough.com) Gollancz (www.gollancz.co.uk) £16.99 When the body of sixteen-year-old Natasha Howland is pulled from the freezing river, it takes paramedics thirteen minutes to revive her. Natasha is part of the popular crowd a school, a beauty queen and leader of “the Barbies”, a trio of blonde ice queens for whom status […]

Read More 13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough

NIGHTBLIND by Ragnar Jónasson

NIGHTBLIND Ragnar Jónasson (ragnar-jonasson.squarespace.com) Translated by Quentin Bates (graskeggur.com) Orenda Books (orendabooks.co.uk) £8.99 The violent death of Siglufjördur’s police inspector heralds a new age for the small northern Icelandic town. There are rumours of drug deals gone bad, police corruption and the involvement of the town’s mayor and deputy mayor. Ari Thór Arason, Siglufjördur’s remaining […]

Read More NIGHTBLIND by Ragnar Jónasson