Exclusive Excerpt from Sven Hassel’s WHEELS OF TERROR

WHEELS OF TERROR: A Graphic Novel Adaptation Sven Hassel (www.svenhassel.net) Jordy Diago (jordy-diago.blogspot.co.uk) Weidenfeld & Nicholson (www.wnblog.co.uk) £16.99 This week sees the UK publication of the graphic novel adaptation of Sven Hassel’s 1959 novel, Wheels of Terror. Adapted by Hassel’s family, and brought to life by the stunning artwork of Spanish artist Jordy Diago, the […]

Read More Exclusive Excerpt from Sven Hassel’s WHEELS OF TERROR

THOSE ABOVE by Daniel Polansky

THOSE ABOVE (The Empty Throne Book 1) Daniel Polansky (www.danielpolansky.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £18.99 It is almost thirty years since the war between mankind and Those Above, the godlike creatures who live at the top of the great mountain city, The Roost. Now, as the warlike Aelerian people contemplate breaking the truce that has […]

Read More THOSE ABOVE by Daniel Polansky


THE UNDERTAKING Audrey Magee (audreymagee.com) Atlantic Books (atlantic-books.co.uk) £12.99 In order to temporarily escape the madness of the Eastern Front, German soldier Peter Faber turns to marriage. It is a marriage of convenience, the bride one Katharina Spinell, chosen from a catalogue, a girl he has never met. The benefits are mutual: ten days’ honeymoon […]

Read More THE UNDERTAKING by Audrey Magee


THE WIND IS NOT A RIVER Brian Payton (brianpayton.com) Mantle (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 John Easley, a reporter for the National Geographic is ejected – along with every other journalist in the region – from the Aleutian Islands when the Japanese make their first incursion onto American soil. When his brother, a Royal Canadian Air Force pilot, […]

Read More THE WIND IS NOT A RIVER by Brian Payton

RED RISING by Pierce Brown

RED RISING Pierce Brown (pierce-brown.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £12.99 I would have lived in peace. But my enemies brought me war. It is a world in which humanity has evolved into a colour-coded caste system, with Reds – manual labourers and menial workers – at the bottom, and the spoilt, rich Golds at the […]

Read More RED RISING by Pierce Brown


CONTROL POINT (SHADOW OPS: Book One) Myke Cole (mykecole.com) Headline (www.headline.co.uk) £7.99 In the aftermath of the Great Reawakening, the world is a different place. Magic has returned, and people across the globe are turning up Latent, Manifesting in any one of a handful of schools of magic. Those who Manifest in the legal schools […]

Read More CONTROL POINT by Myke Cole

THE TESTIMONY by James Smythe

THE TESTIMONY James Smythe (james-smythe.com) Blue Door Books (www.harpercollins.co.uk/…/blue-door) £12.99 At first, we thought the noise was just a radio. Suddenly, the whole world is filled with static and, as it dies away, the words My Children. No-one has any idea where the noise has come from, or to whom the voice belongs. Hours later, […]

Read More THE TESTIMONY by James Smythe

JULIA by Otto de Kat

JULIA Otto de Kat Translated by Ina Rilke Maclehose Press (maclehosepress.com) £12.00 A brief flick through previous entries in this blog will show the reader that I have something of a fascination with the events of the Second World War. Not so much the war itself, but the individual stories that make up the fabric […]

Read More JULIA by Otto de Kat