EXTRACT: SALVATION by Peter F. Hamilton

SALVATION Peter F. Hamilton Pan Macmillan (www.panmacmillan.com) £20.00 Earth Calling Drifting through interstellar space, three light-years out from the star 31 Aquilae, the Neána abode cluster picked up a series of short, faint electromagnetic pulses that lasted intermittently for eighteen years. The early signatures were familiar to the Neána, and faintly worrying: nuclear fission detonations, […]

Read More EXTRACT: SALVATION by Peter F. Hamilton

EXTRACT: SHATTERMOON by Dominic Dulley

SHATTERMOON Dominic Dulley (dominicdulley.com) Jo Fletcher Books (www.jofletcherbooks.com) £16.99 MENDER Consciousness returned slowly. At first the familiar throb of a ship’s mass-inversion drive made Orry think she was in her cabin, but the smell wasn’t right. There was an antiseptic odour that brought to mind a hospital, but it was fighting with something earthier, a […]

Read More EXTRACT: SHATTERMOON by Dominic Dulley

EXTRACT: THE DARKNESS THAT DIVIDES US by Renate Dorrestein

THE DARKNESS THAT DIVIDES US Renate Dorrestein (renatedorrestein.nl) Translated by Hester Velmans (hestervelmans.com) World Editions (www.worldeditions.org) £11.99 As part of the Dutch Book Week celebrations, I’m very pleased to present an extract from Renate Dorrestein’s The Darkness that Divides Us. Follow the conversation on Twitter using the hashtag #BoekenweekUk. We must at some point have […]

Read More EXTRACT: THE DARKNESS THAT DIVIDES US by Renate Dorrestein

EXTRACT: THE CABINET OF LINGUISTIC CURIOSITIES by Paul Anthony Jones

THE CABINET OF LINGUISTIC CURIOSITIES Paul Anthony Jones (www.paulanthonyjones.com) Elliott & Thompson (www.eandtbooks.com) £14.99 auripotent (n.)  rich and powerful The Latin word for gold was aurum, which is not only responsible for the chemical symbol for gold, Au, but is today found at the root of a host of suitably golden words. Aurigraphy, for instance, […]

Read More EXTRACT: THE CABINET OF LINGUISTIC CURIOSITIES by Paul Anthony Jones

Extract: TIME TO WIN by Harry Brett

TIME TO WIN Harry Brett (www.henrysutton.co.uk/harry-brett) Corsair (www.littlebrown.co.uk) £16.99 There was a time when the sound of rain was comforting, calming. Now it pissed her off. It was autumn already, she remembered. September 1. It was not her favourite month. She let the patter swirl around her head for another few minutes, realising she was […]

Read More Extract: TIME TO WIN by Harry Brett