An Interview with ANTONIN VARENNE

Name: ANTONIN VARENNE Author of: BED OF NAILS (2012)                       LOSER’S CORNER (2014)                       RETRIBUTION ROAD (2017) Antonin Varenne was awarded the Prix Michel Lebrun and the Grand Prix du Jury Sang d’encre for Bed of Nails, his first novel to be translated into English. His second, Loser’s Corner was awarded the Prix des Lecteurs […]

Read More An Interview with ANTONIN VARENNE

RETRIBUTION ROAD by Antonin Varenne

RETRIBUTION ROAD Antonin Varenne Translated by Sam Taylor (samtaylorwriter.wixsite.com/sam-taylor-writer) MacLehose Press (www.maclehosepress.com) £18.99 Sergeant Arthur Bowman is a fifteen-year veteran of the East India Company’s private army when he and his team are taken prisoner in Burma in 1852. Six months of torture leave him mentally and physically scarred when he is released along with […]

Read More RETRIBUTION ROAD by Antonin Varenne

GUEST POST: World Building in the RELICS Universe by Tim Lebbon

Name: TIM LEBBON Author of: COLDBROOK (2012)                       THE HUNT (2015)                       RELICS (2017) On the web: http://www.timlebbon.net On Twitter: @timlebbon I love world building. A few years ago I wrote a series of fantasy novels for Bantam in the USA, and also a couple for Orbit in the UK. Four of these––the Noreela novels––all […]

Read More GUEST POST: World Building in the RELICS Universe by Tim Lebbon

DUST AND DESIRE by Conrad Williams

DUST AND DESIRE (A Joel Sorrell Novel) Conrad Williams (conradwilliams.wordpress.com) Titan Books (titanbooks.com) £7.99 London-based private investigator Joel Sorrell has gotten himself entangled in a most bizarre missing person case. Hired to look into the disappearance of his client’s brother, Sorrell begins to believe that he may be on a wild goose chase, especially when […]

Read More DUST AND DESIRE by Conrad Williams

SORCERER TO THE CROWN by Zen Cho

SORCERER TO THE CROWN Zen Cho (zencho.org) Macmillan (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 Regency London in a time of magical upheaval. The Sorcerer Royal is dead, his staff passed on to his successor, but his familiar gone. His successor has split opinion within the Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers: Zacharias Wythe is Sir Stephen’s son in all but […]

Read More SORCERER TO THE CROWN by Zen Cho

A SONG FROM DEAD LIPS by William Shaw

A SONG FROM DEAD LIPS William Shaw (williamshaw.com) Quercus (www.quercusbooks.co.uk) £7.99 When a young woman is found strangled and naked yards away from the recording studio on Abbey Road made famous by The Beatles, the case falls to Cathal Breen, a member of the Met’s D Division. Still recovering from the death of his father, […]

Read More A SONG FROM DEAD LIPS by William Shaw

LIKE THIS, FOR EVER by Sharon Bolton

LIKE THIS, FOR EVER Sharon Bolton (www.sharonbolton.com) Corgi (www.transworldbooks.co.uk) £6.99 Barney Roberts is 11 years old and obsessed with two things: finding his mother, who walked out on him and his father while Barney was still too young to have much of a memory of her; and understanding the series of murders of five London […]

Read More LIKE THIS, FOR EVER by Sharon Bolton

MAYHEM by Sarah Pinborough

MAYHEM Sarah Pinborough (sarahpinborough.com) Jo Fletcher Books (www.jofletcherbooks.com) £14.99 It is October 1888 and the people of London are already reeling from the series of murders committed by the man who has styled himself “Jack the Ripper”. When the rotting torso of a young woman is found in the vault of the building site that […]

Read More MAYHEM by Sarah Pinborough