THE AXEMAN’S JAZZ by Ray Celestin

THE AXEMAN’S JAZZ Ray Celestin Mantle (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 New Orleans, May 1919. A man, styling himself the Axeman, has already brutally murdered six people, leaving tarot cards by their mutilated bodies, and has sent a letter to the Times-Picayune promising more in the future. Independently of each other, three people – Detective Lieutenant Michael Talbot; […]

Read More THE AXEMAN’S JAZZ by Ray Celestin

THE UNDERTAKING by Audrey Magee

THE UNDERTAKING Audrey Magee (audreymagee.com) Atlantic Books (atlantic-books.co.uk) £12.99 In order to temporarily escape the madness of the Eastern Front, German soldier Peter Faber turns to marriage. It is a marriage of convenience, the bride one Katharina Spinell, chosen from a catalogue, a girl he has never met. The benefits are mutual: ten days’ honeymoon […]

Read More THE UNDERTAKING by Audrey Magee

THE ABOMINABLE by Dan Simmons

THE ABOMINABLE Dan Simmons (dansimmons.com) Sphere (www.littlebrown.co.uk/Sphere) £18.99 George Leigh Mallory and his climbing partner Andrew Irvine disappeared on the North-East Ridge of Mount Everest in early June 1924. A couple of days later, another Englishman, Lord Percival Bromley – not officially part of Mallory’s expedition – disappeared from the same location along with a […]

Read More THE ABOMINABLE by Dan Simmons

MAYHEM by Sarah Pinborough

MAYHEM Sarah Pinborough (sarahpinborough.com) Jo Fletcher Books (www.jofletcherbooks.com) £14.99 It is October 1888 and the people of London are already reeling from the series of murders committed by the man who has styled himself “Jack the Ripper”. When the rotting torso of a young woman is found in the vault of the building site that […]

Read More MAYHEM by Sarah Pinborough

RATLINES by Stuart Neville

RATLINES Stuart Neville (stuartneville.com) Harvill Secker (www.vintage-books.co.uk/about-us/harvill-secker) £12.99 It is 1963 and Ireland is preparing for an historic visit from US president, John F. Kennedy. The death of the third foreign national, a German businessman, in the space of a handful of days could threaten not only the presidential visit, but the relationship between Ireland […]

Read More RATLINES by Stuart Neville

HHHH by Laurent Binet

HHHH Laurent Binet Translated by Sam Taylor Harvill Secker (www.vintage-books.co.uk/about-us/harvill-secker) £16.99 Released: 3rd May 2012 Laurent Binet’s debut novel, the oddly-named HHhH, appealed to me on two different levels: first of all, as an avid consumer of any and all information concerning the Third Reich and the Holocaust, and secondly, as a lover of the […]

Read More HHHH by Laurent Binet

JULIA by Otto de Kat

JULIA Otto de Kat Translated by Ina Rilke Maclehose Press (maclehosepress.com) £12.00 A brief flick through previous entries in this blog will show the reader that I have something of a fascination with the events of the Second World War. Not so much the war itself, but the individual stories that make up the fabric […]

Read More JULIA by Otto de Kat

CRUCIBLE OF SECRETS by Shona MacLean

CRUCIBLE OF SECRETS Shona MacLean Quercus (www.quercusbooks.co.uk) £20.00 Aberdeen, 1631. Alexander Seaton, lecturer and regent of Marischal College, stumbles upon the dead body of his friend, the university’s librarian, and is asked by the principal to look into the man’s life with an eye to protecting the college’s interests. Convinced that his friend has been […]

Read More CRUCIBLE OF SECRETS by Shona MacLean