THE EYRE AFFAIR by Jasper Fforde

THE EYRE AFFAIR Jasper Fforde (www.jasperfforde.com) Hodder (www.hodder.co.uk) £7.99 The following review is the first in a series of reviews for the Hodderscape Review Project, a project that I’m very happy and proud to be a part of. Jasper Fforde’s The Eyre Affair, for anyone that has already read it, will seem the obvious choice […]

Read More THE EYRE AFFAIR by Jasper Fforde

GRANDAD, THERE’S A HEAD ON THE BEACH by Colin Cotterill

GRANDAD, THERE’S A HEAD ON THE BEACH Colin Cotterill (www.colincotterill.com) Quercus (www.quercusbooks.co.uk) £16.99 When we first met Thai crime journalist Jimm Juree in last year’s Killed at the Whim of a Hat, she had been forcibly relocated to the somewhat backwards Maprao in southern Thailand with her mother – slowly succumbing to Alzheimer’s – and […]

Read More GRANDAD, THERE’S A HEAD ON THE BEACH by Colin Cotterill

STONEMOUTH by Iain Banks

STONEMOUTH Iain Banks (www.iain-banks.net) Little Brown (www.littlebrown.co.uk) £18.99 I didn’t have to read too far into Iain Banks’ latest novel, Stonemouth, to realise that I’ve been more than a little unfair to him over the course of the past few years. As a younger man, I read The Crow Road, having enjoyed the BBC television […]

Read More STONEMOUTH by Iain Banks

ANGELMAKER by Nick Harkaway

ANGELMAKER Nick Harkaway (www.nickharkaway.com) William Heinemann (www.randomhouse.co.uk/editions/imprint/william-heinemann) £12.99 Every so often, I run across a book that catches me completely by surprise; a book that I picked up on a whim, having never heard of it before, that strikes a chord and immediately becomes a firm favourite. Nick Harkaway’s first novel, The Gone-Away World, was […]

Read More ANGELMAKER by Nick Harkaway