LOOK WHO’S BACK by Timur Vermes

LOOK WHO’S BACK Timur Vermes Translated by Jamie Bulloch MacLehose Press (maclehosepress.com) £15.00 Adolf Hitler opens his eyes to find himself lying in the middle of a piece of waste ground in Berlin. The last few days – his final days in the Bunker – are a blur and it doesn’t take long for Hitler […]

Read More LOOK WHO’S BACK by Timur Vermes

THE INVESTIGATION by Jung-Myung Lee

THE INVESTIGATION Jung-Myung Lee Translated by Chi-Young Kim (www.chiyoungkim.com) Mantle (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 Fukuoka Prison, shortly after the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbour, is used for the incarceration of, amongst others, dissidents and those of anti-Japanese tendencies. For the most part , these people are Koreans, a race whose language has been outlawed and whose culture […]

Read More THE INVESTIGATION by Jung-Myung Lee

THE UNDERTAKING by Audrey Magee

THE UNDERTAKING Audrey Magee (audreymagee.com) Atlantic Books (atlantic-books.co.uk) £12.99 In order to temporarily escape the madness of the Eastern Front, German soldier Peter Faber turns to marriage. It is a marriage of convenience, the bride one Katharina Spinell, chosen from a catalogue, a girl he has never met. The benefits are mutual: ten days’ honeymoon […]

Read More THE UNDERTAKING by Audrey Magee

THE WIND IS NOT A RIVER by Brian Payton

THE WIND IS NOT A RIVER Brian Payton (brianpayton.com) Mantle (www.panmacmillan.com) £16.99 John Easley, a reporter for the National Geographic is ejected – along with every other journalist in the region – from the Aleutian Islands when the Japanese make their first incursion onto American soil. When his brother, a Royal Canadian Air Force pilot, […]

Read More THE WIND IS NOT A RIVER by Brian Payton

THE VIOLENT CENTURY by Lavie Tidhar

THE VIOLENT CENTURY Lavie Tidhar (lavietidhar.wordpress.com) Hodder & Stoughton (www.hodder.co.uk) £18.99 Released: 24 October 2013 In the summer of 1932, German scientist Dr Joachim Vomacht powers up a device that will change the world; the wave generated by this device will touch every person on the planet. Not everyone will come through the experience unchanged. […]

Read More THE VIOLENT CENTURY by Lavie Tidhar

RATLINES by Stuart Neville

RATLINES Stuart Neville (stuartneville.com) Harvill Secker (www.vintage-books.co.uk/about-us/harvill-secker) £12.99 It is 1963 and Ireland is preparing for an historic visit from US president, John F. Kennedy. The death of the third foreign national, a German businessman, in the space of a handful of days could threaten not only the presidential visit, but the relationship between Ireland […]

Read More RATLINES by Stuart Neville

HHHH by Laurent Binet

HHHH Laurent Binet Translated by Sam Taylor Harvill Secker (www.vintage-books.co.uk/about-us/harvill-secker) £16.99 Released: 3rd May 2012 Laurent Binet’s debut novel, the oddly-named HHhH, appealed to me on two different levels: first of all, as an avid consumer of any and all information concerning the Third Reich and the Holocaust, and secondly, as a lover of the […]

Read More HHHH by Laurent Binet